Posts Tagged ‘fast food’

Pizza Hut Offers Gluten Free Pizza

Pizza Hut will be introducing gluten free pizza to select stores starting January 26. Before you get too excited, they say they’ll only be putting it in select stores, so they’re probably going to try it out and see if it’s worth the effort before offering it everywhere. They have loads of useful FAQs on their site, so check out the details here:

The crust will be made by none other than Udi’s! Many of you have heard of thus completely gluten free brand, and when I used to eat processed gluten free bread, theirs was my favorite. They make mean muffins, too. If you’re wondering about what ingredients are in their pizza crust, here is a list:

Whether you decide to try Pizza Hut’s gluten free pizza or not, this is a pretty big step in the line of chain pizza restaurants. They haven’t been willing to bend to gluten free as much as regular Italian restaurants and pizzerias, so it’s about time!

If you try the pizza, comment down below and let us all know how it is!

Keep on living the wheat free life!


10 Rules of Wheat Free Fast Food Eating

It’s happened too many times: you’re driving by a fast food place and craving a cheeseburger or a chicken sandwich, but the thought of peeling the bun off the meat and cheese and scraping the sauce off is not so appealing. And what about the fries? Do they have wheat? Fret no more, fellow sufferers!  This list of rules for wheat free fast food eating will guide you through this tricky subject!

  1. Wendy’s is always the safest bet. Many other fast food restaurants either don’t have a gluten free menu or won’t admit that it’s possible their food has gluten. Just remember the McDonald’s incident when it was discovered that their fries had wheat and milk in them, however limited the amount.
  2. Ask for no bun on your sandwich. Believe it or not, I’ve never been in a fast food place that didn’t have a special little container for sandwiches without the bun.
  3. Stick to the basics. If you want a salad, your safest bet is to stick with the garden salad. There’s always a chance that the grilled chicken has a sauce or a marinade on it that could contain gluten.
  4. Skip the drive-through. If you go inside, the cashiers will ask you what you mean if they have any questions about your gluten/wheat free request. The drive-through voices, on the other hand, won’t necessarily take the time to ask you to clarify, which could land you in a messy situation.
  5.  Never get fried chicken. I think this one’s obvious.
  6. Ask for Italian or vinaigrette dressings. Italian and vinaigrette dressings are the least likely to have wheat or gluten because they are usually thin (i.e. don’t need to be thickened). There is always a risk with Asian dressings since so many of them are thickened with wheat.
  7. The more natural sounding, the better. Things like baked potatoes or fresh fruits are less likely to include wheat than fries and other man-made products.
  8. Make ice cream your dessert. Ice cream minus the cone and milkshakes with nothing extra added are your safest bet for dessert.
  9. Don’t order breakfast. Even if it’s oatmeal or granola, it’s highly probable that wheat is included. It’s best to just stay away from ordering breakfast.
  10. DON’T BE AFRAID TO ASK. If you have any doubts whatsoever, never hesitate to ask the cashier about whether something has gluten. If they’re not sure, they will either say so or let you read the ingredients, in the case of something like salad dressing. Better safe than sorry.