REVIEW: Gluten Free Go Raw Chocolate Super Cookies

Health Values: Gluten free, organic, wheat free, nut free, vegan, no added sugar, GMO free, handmade in USA.

No sugar or sugar substitutes in a gluten-free chocolate snack? I’m in!

gf go raw choc cookie front of bag

My local Whole Foods had a few flavors of Go Raw Super Cookies (they recently changed their packaging and product names, as you’ll notice on the website), so naturally I decided to try chocolate first. The ingredients are proudly displayed in large print right on the front of the bag – that coupled with the fact that there were very few ingredients was a good sign. Here is the simple list:

  • Organic Unsulphured Coconut
  • Sprouted Organic Sesame Seeds
  • Organic Dates
  • Organic Cacao

gf go raw choc cookie back of bag

I couldn’t wait to try them as soon as I got home. I have one suggestion for anyone trying these for the first time: don’t think of them as traditional “cookies”. Instead, think of them as snack wafers; if you’re expecting a traditional cookie, your taste buds won’t give them a fair chance.

Once I got past the cookie expectation, I loved them. To be able to satisfy my chocolate craving while eating a raw, live, healthful snack is more than I ever expected. These are not what I would call sweet, but they have just enough sweetness to do the trick.

gf go raw chocolate cookie

They’re also a very convenient little snack – each hand made “cookie” is about the size of a quarter, so you can easily pop them into your mouth without making a mess or leaving a trail of crumbs. Very good as an on-the-go option or as an office snack.

They’re a little pricey – $4.79 for a 3 oz. bag – but they’re definitely worth it when you consider the wonderful taste coupled with the health values. I’ll be trying the Ginger Snaps next and then I’ll hunt down their lemon Super Cookie, which wasn’t at my Whole Foods. But you can bet that I’ll find them!

5-okays

 

Keep on living the wheat free life!

Leave a Reply

