REVIEW: Gabriel Dual Powder Foundation

I’ve been on the hunt for gluten free makeup that both looks good and doesn’t cause the extremely sensitive skin on my face to have bad reactions in one way or another. It’s tough. I try to stay away from ingredients that my blood tests showed either as allergies or intolerances, but there are a lot of common foods I have issues with.

Gabriel lipstick agrees with me – that’s my first test with makeup: does the lipstick work for me. Since it did, I checked out Gabriel’s other makeup products. I’ve bought a few to try, but today’s post is going to focus on the Dual Powder Foundation.

Gabriel Dual Powder Foundation box

Gabriel Dual Powder Foundation

The application “sponge” that comes in the bottom of the compact feels different from anything else I’ve ever used. It feels almost moist (it’s not, of course) and soft with some pushback. I like the feeling on my face, very nice application, very even and smooth – no need to blend it out with a brush.

Gabriel Dual Powder Foundation application sponge

Gabriel Dual Powder Foundation application sponge clean

I’ve just been using BB cream underneath it for now, but I’m also going to try out a couple of Gabriel’s liquid foundations to go underneath (reviews to come!). You can use this powder on its own without liquid foundation or moisturizer underneath, but I have some dry skin, especially in the winter time, so I prefer to use something underneath that moisturizes.

Gabriel Dual Powder Foundation makeup

This is a full coverage powder foundation that really does a great job neutralizing blemishes, scars, and uneven skin tone. I was really surprised at just how well it covered everything. I got the color Light Beige and it matches my skin perfectly.

Edit: This post previously said that once this makeup settled on my face, it got darker, but that’s not the case. I wasn’t waiting long enough for my BB cream to dry before  applying the powder, so the color turned darker as it continued to dry. Now that I’ve started waiting for the cream to dry completely, the makeup doesn’t change colors at all.

Gabriel Dual Powder Foundation compact with mirror

Leave it on for 5-10 minutes and it no longer looks like makeup is on your face. It looks very natural and even makes pores look smaller. I have actually never experienced this in a makeup before. Its staying power is excellent, especially for a powder. I don’t have to touch it up at all during the day. If I want to take the shine off my nose towards the end of the day, all I have to do is use oil absorbing papers, I don’t even have to apply more makeup. The makeup is still perfectly in tact.

I’ve had no problem at all with my skin while wearing this, so I’ve made it my everyday foundation. I’m so glad I tried it! Besides being gluten free, it’s also vegan, cruelty free, completely natural (NPA certified), and organic, all of which are major bonuses in my books.

I recommend this highly, especially for those with sensitive or even acne-prone skin who have trouble finding quality makeup. I can’t wait to try the other Gabriel foundation products I bought!

Keep on living the wheat free life!

Leave a Reply

