SKIN CARE REVIEW: New Creamy Brightening Cleanser by Mineral Fusion

Let me preface this review by saying that I haven’t changed face washes in over 10 years. Why? Because my skin is so deathly sensitive that whenever I try a new one, it has a horrible effect in one way or another. I have learned to fear change when it comes to anything I put on my face. But lately I’ve been questioning whether I have bad reactions because of the ingredients of drugstore brand face washes, foundations, and the like.

I have been using Clean & Clear Daily Pore Cleanser all this time and I thought it was doing a good enough job. It has those micro-scrubbers that aren’t overly rough, which seemed like a good idea all this time. But what I never used to look at was the ingredients. There isn’t a single thing on there that’s in plain English – all synthetic, it seems – except for fragrance. That word I can read. Ugh.

The good news is that I wrote to Johnson & Johnson to check if their products are gluten free and they said that any products with gluten in them will have “gluten” or “wheat” somewhere in the ingredients list. Otherwise it should be safe. So my chosen cleanser was safe from gluten, but what about all those other hard-to-pronounce ingredients? It still wasn’t good enough for me.

I saw that Whole Foods was having a sale yesterday on a whole bunch of different beauty products, and everything Mineral Fusion was on sale. Perfect timing to look for a new face wash. I came across Mineral Fusion’s new creamy brightening cleanser and was automatically skeptical because the word “creamy” is used, and cream-type products don’t agree with the skin on my face. But still, it’s Mineral Fusion and their lip products and nail polishes and eye liner seem to make my skin happy, so I went against all my doubts and picked it up.

Mineral Fusion new creamy brightening cleanser

I was thrilled to see that I could read and understand almost every single ingredient in this cleanser, and not a single one am I allergic to. Shock of all shocks, that’s next to impossible! It’s also free of all kinds of nasty stuff, which I like. The only fragrance in here comes from natural oils, no synthetic or added fragrance.

Mineral Fusion creamy brightening cleanser ingredients

Mineral Fusion creamy brightening cleanser free from

Before I did a review, I wanted to use this product for 24 hours and see what happened. With my sensitive skin, things can take a couple of minutes or a couple of uses before it shows a bad reaction. I used the face wash at night and followed the instructions. It says to wash your face with the cleanser for 1-3 minutes. I haven’t seen that on a product before! I wash my face for 1-2 minutes because I’ve read it’s the only way to take off makeup and then get down to the naked skin and exfoliate it. I used a small amount, just like the bottle said, and massaged it into my skin  for the minimum of 1 minute in case it gave me a bad reaction. The exfoliants were small, which is food. Large ones can irritate the face more than help it, depending on how sensitive your skin is.

Mineral Fusion creamy brightening cleanser product

It smelled half like clay and half like orange, and after I rinsed it off, the orange smell is what stayed. The cleanser was easy to rinse off, and a little certainly did go a long way. After I patted my face dry, I noticed that my skin was well moisturized and definitely better exfoliated. I didn’t feel any tightness because there was no drying effect. My skin was a little red from massaging, but didn’t feel hot. That seemed more normal than what can happen to my skin on a regular basis with Clean & Clear.

The next morning, I washed my face with it again, and this time I found that my skin really did seem brighter! I have never seen that happen before. My pores also looked smaller, another thing that has never happened to me before. Still nice smooth skin, the cleanser caused no breakouts, no rashes, no extra oiliness or dryness. My skin seems to be in better condition than when I used Clean & Clear.

Well I was shocked. I had hoped that this product wouldn’t bother my face and might be better for it, but I didn’t expect it to make such a huge difference in my skin. And without all those chemicals and synthetic ingredients, I feel that it’s better for me anyway. This is something I’m definitely going to continue using.

Have you used any Mineral Fusion beauty products? I just bought the BB Cream and SPF40 moisturizer to try too, now that my skin seems to agree with the cleanser. If you’ve used this brand before, what do you think of Mineral Fusion products?

Keep on living the wheat free life!

Leave a Reply

