Seapoint Farms Gluten Free Dry Roasted Edamame – Spicy Wasabi

Health Values: Gluten free, wheat free, no GMOs

I like edamame. A lot. But it’s usually relatively expensive both in grocery stores and restaurants. It never feels worth it to me because it’s always served plain or lightly salted. So when I saw Seapoint Farms’ Gluten Free Dry Roasted Edamame in my goodie bag after the Seashore Celiacs’ picnic this summer, I was excited. A free edamame snack I could try? I’m in.

Dry Roasted Spicy Wasabi Edamame

Seapoint Farms has a few kinds of dry roasted edamame. The one I got was Spicy Wasabi, something I rarely eat but do enjoy. The ingredients were few with only one thing I normally wouldn’t eat: dextrin. It’s a thickening agent, but it can be made from a lot of different things like corn or tapioca, so you never know if you could be allergic or sensitive to what it’s made from. I gave it a shot anyway just for the sake of this review.

Dry Roasted Wasabi Edamame Ingredients

I really liked this snack because it was crunchy and tasted great. When the wasabi was present, it was REALLY present, very spicy and enjoyable. But it was not evenly coated, and while that would have been okay, I got some pieces that seemed to have nothing on them at all. Just plain edamame. So that was disappointing. If that doesn’t bother you, then this is a great snack for you to try. If, however, you like consistency in your spicy snacks, this one’s not for you.

In terms of what other Seapoint Farms products are gluten/wheat free, they say on their website: “All of our Frozen and Dry Roasted Edamame product lines are wheat free and gluten free.” I looked at how to buy their snacks and found out that some of their products are sold in regular supermarkets and natural food stores while others are sold in bulk on Amazon.

4-okays

Keep on living the wheat free life!

Leave a Reply

