From BLT to BLA (and it’s not boring)

Who doesn’t love a good BLT? Of course the classic is AMAZING – I’m not contesting that! But I don’t always want to use tomato because nightshades cause inflammation in  your body. Also, tomatoes can be pretty flavorless if they’re not in season. So instead, I have the perfect replacement: BLA. And it’s anything but blah. Bacon-Lettuce-and-Apple! For my own diet, here’s how I make it:

Bacon: Applegate Organic Turkey Bacon

Lettuce: organic green or red leaf lettuce

Apple: a sweet, crisp organic apple contrasts the salty bacon, typically Pink Lady, Jazz, Gala

Mayo: my favorite dairy-free mayo is Organic Vegenaise, and they have a couple of different options to suit your dietary needs including soy free

Bread: homemade buckwheat bread recipe or Udi’s White Sandwich Bread (when I was still eating it)

BLA - bacon, lettuce, apple

And there you have it. An easy organic, anti-inflammatory, gluten free, dairy free, and optional soy free BLT variation, especially perfect for fall, when apples are in their prime! What kinds of variations have you made either to accommodate your diet or just to spice it up?

Keep on living the wheat free life!

2 responses to this post.

  1. YUMM! I don’t eat nightshade veggies either, so I’m really looking forward to trying this! Up until now I just made “BL” sandwiches, with no substitute for the “T”. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

