Sugar Detox Day 13: Easy Chicken with Apples, Onions, and Red Pepper

Sorry I’m a day behind with these posts! The last one will be tomorrow for my 14-day detox.

When I’m sugar detoxing, it helps cut my cravings if I have something sweet(ish) as part of my lunch or dinner. Then I don’t feel the need for dessert. And with so many different sweet fall apples out there, it’s the perfect time for this very simple recipe that takes next to no time at all.

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 2.34.57 PM

1. In a sauté pan, cook diced apple, diced onion, and diced red pepper until the onion is almost done.
2. Add shredded roast chicken breast and mix in well with other ingredients.  Cook until the chicken is heated through.

IMG_1955

That’s it! I found no need for salt in this recipe. I also found no need for any kind of sauce because the cooked apple, onion, and red pepper were so sweet and such a good combo, it felt like a complete dish all by itself. You could possibly throw some balsamic vinegar in there, but I like it best on its own.

Do you like to have fruit in your savory dishes? Do you find it helps cut your cravings?

Keep on living the wheat free life!

Leave a Reply

