French Consulate Dog and Summer Fruit Obsession

This week my colleague from France needed a ride to the French consulate to get his passport. Apparently there’s one right around where we work. I figured it would be just like the DMV: frustrating, crowded, and slooooowwww. Like most government-related things. Never was I wronger.

First of all, it was a house instead of the usual government building!

IMG_2032

 

And a lovely, big house at that. It’s bigger than I could fit in the picture from my car. When you walk inside, it’s literally someone’s house – they live there and people go in and out all day to get their passports and whatever else consulates do.

When we got out of the car, we were greeted right away by the friendliest dog on the planet (besides my own, of course).

IMG_2028

He was a little camera shy, but he let me snap his profile once he got to know me.

IMG_2029

We met him even before we met his owner! I wanted to know his name, but I don’t speak French very well and my colleague forgot to ask, so he will henceforth be known as Francois.

The inside of the house was beautiful with a sweeping staircase and antique furniture and knick knacks galore. I couldn’t take pictures in there since it was actually someone’s home, but believe me, it was a pleasant surprise! So much more welcoming than I expected. And we were in and out in 5 minutes. Francois was completely distracted by another dog when we came back outside. That’s probably why he passed up his chance to come home with me.

On a cooking note, I’ve been taking advantage of summer fruits while I still can, so I haven’t baked this week. My dessert has been organic watermelon and organic black figs.

IMG_2007

And they are so sweet and satisfying! I’ll be baking again soon, and when I do…well, let’s just say I bought a new binder to fit all my upcoming recipes. 🙂

Keep on living the wheat free life!

Leave a Reply

