Roasted Balsamic Tomatoes – The Lazy Way

I’m not a fan of having to do lots of prep work with vegetables. In fact, I dislike it, not because I don’t think it’s worth the effort, but because I’m so slow in peeling/chopping/slicing/dicing…you get the idea. So when I decided to try making roasted tomatoes and I read the instructions from other websites’ recipes, I was immediately intimidated. When I have to core and get the seeds out of something that’s as messy as a tomato, I know it won’t go well for me. So of course I decided to do it my way – and it worked! Victory!

I used one organic tomato and started out by cutting the tomato up relatively haphazardly into generally the same size pieces, pretty small. I put them in a small bowl and filled it most of the way with gluten free balsamic vinegar. Then I added a clove of minced garlic (I used a garlic press), 1/2 teaspoon olive oil, and some sea salt. I tossed it all together and let it marinate for a few hours, tossing once during marination.

IMG_1934

 

I drained each little piece of tomato with a spoon and put them all on a baking pan, no extra oil needed. 450 degrees for about 25 minutes.

IMG_1936

They shrank a bit but didn’t lose too much of their size, plus they retained some moistness – I didn’t want them too dried out. They ended up tasting like an amazing marinara sauce! I can’t wait to top a cauliflower crust pizza with them (to come) or use them in a sauce or something! I haven’t quite decided what to do with them yet. Any suggestions?

IMG_1975

Keep on living the wheat free life!

Leave a Reply

