Gluten Free Organic Taza Stone Ground Dark Chocolate Bar

Health Values: Gluten free, organic, dairy free, soy free. HANDMADE in USA.

It’s so hard to find a gluten free dark chocolate bar that’s also organic, so when I found this 70% dark chocolate Taza bar, I just had to give it a try. And the fact that it’s handmade in Massachusetts made it even more appealing.

gf taza stone ground choc 3

The flavor of this bar was different from any dark chocolate bar I’ve ever had – GOOD different. It had an almost fruity undertone – at first I thought I tasted a bit of raspberry, even though there’s none in it. This could be because it’s made from Dominican cacao beans, which probably taste different from the cacao beans grown in other regions.

But I have to say, I really liked it….a LOT. The dark chocolate had a wonderfully rich flavor that made me crave more.

gf taza stone ground choc 2

It’s not as hard as you’d expect a dairy-free bar to be, and that’s a good thing. When you chew it, it does crumble on your tongue – I liked that because it wasn’t a dry type of crumbling, but rather more like lots of silky little bits spreading the flavorful joy. My friend didn’t care for the crumbling part as much, but she still liked the chocolate itself. My other friend loved the bar as much as I did.

I’d buy this bar again in a second. It’s a bit more expensive – around $5 for a 3 oz. bar – but considering all the allergens that it doesn’t contain, the fact that it’s organic, the fact that it has so few ingredients (and all of them understandable and not 24-letter chemical terms!), and that it’s handmade here in the USA, I’m willing to spend a couple extra dollars on it.

5-okays

Leave a Reply

