Gluten Free Buckwheat Bread Recipe

I recently discovered a great recipe for homemade buckwheat bread that is really simple and includes no expensive/unusual ingredients. I was so excited that I made it right away, and as a person with no experience working with yeast, I found it extremely easy to make!

IMG_1103

This recipe requires no kneading and has very little active time.

The ingredients are:

  • 500 g (16 oz) buckwheat flour – I used Arrowhead Mills 
  • 350 ml (10½ fl oz) lukewarm water
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil – I used olive oil
  • 2 tsp dried yeast – I used Red Star
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt – I used sea salt
  • 1 tsp vinegar – I used apple cider vinegar
  • 2 eggs

IMG_1087

I don’t have a warm place in my house to put bread to rise, so I waited until I was making dinner. After I preheated the oven for dinner, I was able to put the batter/dough in a loaf pan and put it on top of the oven covered with blankets to keep the warmth in. It rose about a 1/2 inch.

IMG_1089

After the finished bread came out of the oven and I’d let it cool, I cut a slice off. The outside crackled like real bread and was soft but not squishy on the inside. The consistency was nice, not overly dense like some gluten free breads. When it was still a little warm, it didn’t come apart either. Once it has been refrigerated, it does break apart more easily, which is difficult for sandwiches but not impossible – I used it for sandwiches all the time! The bread toasts very well, like real bread.

IMG_1106

IMG_1110

The only thing to watch out for here is that the bread tastes like buckwheat, and if you don’t like buckwheat, you won’t like this bread. But that’s a given. I think this bread is absolutely wonderful and a lifesaver for those of us who can’t have store-bought bread or don’t want processed foods or want something less expensive than what you can buy in the store.

This recipe is by Titli’s Busy Kitchen. You can talk to Titli on her Facebook page – she does respond! And she also has a gluten free white sandwich bread recipe, which I can’t eat because of a couple ingredients I have intolerances to. Let me know if you try it in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Barbara on June 19, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    What oven temperature and bake for how long?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Barbara on June 19, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Also, are there any particular instructions for assembly, like wet ingredients first, etc.? Thanks!

    Reply

    • Great question, Barbara! Here’s what I do:

      1. Mix flour and salt together in a bowl.
      2. In a separate bowl, mix lukewarm water, yeast, and sugar together.
      3. In one more separate bowl, beat eggs and oil together until frothy.

      After all this, you make a nice indent in your first bowl – the one with the flour – to make a “pouch” where you can pour all your ingredients. I’m not sure if the pouch matters, but it’s what all great chefs tell you to do. 🙂 Pour both wet mixtures into the dry mixture pouch, plus the vinegar, then mix them all thoroughly together.

      One more suggestion: when you pour the yeast/sugar/water mix into the flour bowl, mix it as you pour. Otherwise a fair amount of yeast can be left behind.

      Reply

  3. This bread is absolutely amazing, soft and fluffy with a lovely taste. Granted, I already knew I like the buckwheat bread from my bakery, but I wasn’t sure I would be able to bake my own. All I would change next time is add some crushed nuts and seeds into the mix – I only put them on top this time – and this is a winner I will most likely be baking on a regular basis! I think it would lend itself to sweeter versions too so I will most likely experiment.

    To note, my loaf was fully baked after only 20-25 minutes. Mine also rose close to 5cm (2 inches).

    Reply

    • So glad you liked it! It’s the first bread I’ve been able to make because most bread recipes have ingredients I can’t have. I use this bread for BLTs and it has made me so happy – I hadn’t had a BLT in years! I think it’s a great idea to add some nuts and seeds! If you try a sweeter version, let me know how it turns out. That sounds yummy.

      Reply

  4. Posted by bobo on January 14, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    I make this bread all the time and have gone through a couple of trial and errors before I got it right. First thing is that if you let it rise too much, it will collapse in the oven. I think between 1 hour and 1 hour 30 minutes is the golden time frame. Second, you should let it cool overnight so that it doesn’t break apart when you cut it. Slice it up in the morning (I recommend thin slices as this bread is very dense) and place them in a large ziploc bag. Refrigerate for a couple of hours and then store in the freezer. If you store in the freezer right after you slice them, they will stick to each other when frozen. Just toast them straight out of the freezer. If you let them thaw they will break apart.

    Also the recipe calls for 350ml of water but I’ve always had to use more than that because the batter was too dry. So just keep your eyes open for the consistency.

    I love this recipe and it’s the only gluten free bread I can tolerate. I love the nuttiness and slight bitterness of buckwheat. It tastes amazing with salty peanut butter drizzled with agave syrup. I think the bread is too brittle to be made into a sandwich so I make open-face sandwiches with them and just eat it with a knife and fork.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

