Gluten Free Larabar Chocolate Chip Brownie

Health Values: Gluten free, non-GMO, wheat free

Working our way through the Larabar taste tests….once again, for me, this Larabar was a swing and a miss.

Not nearly as nasty tasting as their Coconut Cream Pie bar – I couldn’t even swallow the first bite and we threw the rest of the bar out – but far from being as good as their Apple Pie bar, this chocolate chip brownie doesn’t even come close to tasting as yummy as the name sounds.

gf larabar brownie

It reminded me of the early days of gluten free snacks, when cookies were so far from what a cookie should taste and feel like that they weren’t even worth buying. Today, lots of gluten free/organic companies have taken the trouble to perfect their recipes so that those of us who are Gluten Free Eaters can enjoy the same wonderful tastes we did before we gave it all up for health reasons. So why can’t Larabar do the same?

gf larabar brownie (2)

I realize that everyone’s tastes are different, but two of us tried this bar and neither of us cared for it. The consistency was good, but that’s where it ended for me. To my tastebuds, there was barely the slightest hint of chocolate flavor (and I had to concentrate hard to find it); instead, it reminded me of pumpernickel sourdough bread. I know that sounds crazy for a gluten free product, but that flavor from my glutenous past jumped right out at me.

gf larabar brownie 3

So that’s my take on it, I’d be interested to hear what you thought if you’ve ever tried it!

2-okays

Leave a Reply

