Gluten Free Mrs. May’s Naturals: Almond Crunch

Health Values: Gluten free, wheat free, dairy free, no cholesterol, vegan, no preservatives

In my search for a somewhat filling yet tasty snack that fits in with my anti-inflammatory diet, I found Mrs. May’s Naturals at Whole Foods and decided to try it.

Am I ever glad I did!

I love these snacks. They have all of 4 ingredients: almonds, rice malt, evaporated cane juice, and sea salt. Okay, the small amount of cane juice is a tiny stray off the AF diet, but the total sugar count is very low – only 3 grams per 6 pieces. And it’s a whole lot better than any alternatives I’d find in regular snack foods.

gf mrs mays almond

One of the things I love about these snacks is that they’re “poppable”; meaning, they’re small enough to just pop into your mouth when you need a quick snack. No muss, no fuss, no mess. And when I’m on the run all day with nothing available to fill that inevitable hunger void except the usual unhealthy roadside options, these are a great choice.

There’s a little transparent “window” in the back of the bag where you can see the snacks. At first look, I thought they’d be like a nut brittle, which I like. But they’re not nearly as sweet – just enough of a sweetness touch to make them addictive. Plus they have that wonderful crunchiness that makes you feel like you’re actually eating something substantial. After a few of these, my hunger is quelled and I’m good to go.

5-okays

(Contributed by raisingdaisy)

Leave a Reply

