Gluten Free Organic Imagine Creamy Butternut Squash Soup

Health Values: Gluten free, organic, dairy free, vegetarian, preservative free

I really enjoy a warm bowl of soup on a raw day, but I don’t always have the ingredients I need on hand. Butternut squash soup is one of my all-time favorites; I not only love the flavor, I also love that it’s creamy without having any cream in it. Cream soups used to be my favorites before I became lactose intolerant, so butternut squash soup is a great way to satisfy that craving.

I decided to try Imagine’s Creamy Butternut Squash Soup. Not only is it organic, gluten free, dairy free, and vegetarian, it also comes in a small carton instead of a can, so there’s no BPA contamination.

gf butternut soup

It was in my house a whole 2 days before I had to try it. The consistency is excellent – creamy without the cream, just like it’s supposed to be. It was very good; the only thing I’d change is to decrease the amount of nutmeg and/or cinnamon, which is a bit too strong for my taste. I still enjoyed it and the dominance of those ingredients seemed to lessen with subsequent spoonfuls.

Overall I still prefer my own homemade butternut squash soup, which doesn’t contain the sodium that Imagine’s soup does (460 mg per cup, 2 cups per carton). But this is a good occasional alternative on those raw winter days.

4-okays

(Contributed by raisingdaisy)

Leave a Reply

