Menu Mishaps: Learn from My Mistake

I made a horrible mistake recently. I went to a restaurant that had a gluten free menu, but didn’t order off of it. Why, you ask? A while ago, when I had gone to this restaurant, I noticed that the gluten free menu had specific items from the regular menu, but the descriptions were no different. So I thought that it wouldn’t make a difference which menu I ordered from.

I was terribly wrong.

A few minutes after I left the restaurant, I was already starting to have reactions to what I had eaten, which apparently had gluten. 4 days later, I’m still exhausted and have a constant brain fog, plus other reactions that aren’t so pleasant.

The lesson? Although a dish may sound gluten free or may even be found on the gluten free menu, never order it off of a regular, non-gluten free menu. Even besides cross-contamination, there could be hidden wheat or gluten. Regardless of whether the gluten free menu looks any different from the regular menu, it absolutely is. The only exception I’ve found to this is salad. Even then, don’t get any marinated meats or pre-made dressings – just ask for olive oil and lemon.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Fortunately, as awareness of Celiac Disease has grown and more people have been properly diagnosed, more and more restaurants are understanding the importance of serving this fast-growing market. There are many restaurants, including chains, which were “early adopters” and deserve our utmost thanks for going the extra mile to create a range of delicious gluten-free menu options. And, of course, after you have dined at any of these restaurants, please submit a review to share your feedback with others.

    Reply

    • Yes, this is very true – I’m so glad so many restaurants are coming out with gluten free menus. I feel much safer dining out with these menus. Places like Chili’s even have mmultiple allergy menus, which is extra helpful. Food allergy sufferers like me are lucky to be living in a world which is familiar with these allergies and trying to make our lives easier. Imagine having to deal with these allergies even 10 years ago! Restaurants have come a long way in a short time.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Neva Hazlitt Starbucks on February 1, 2013 at 6:38 am

    I could not resist commenting. Well written!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

