Follow Your Heart Vegan Cheddar Cheese Alternative

By guest blogger raisingdaisy.

If you read my review on Follow Your Heart Veganaise, you’ll understand why I had no hesitation about trying Follow Your Heart Cheddar Cheese Alternative. I was so pumped at the thought of all I could do with a healthy, gluten-free vegan cheese that I did a little happy dance in my head when I found it locally. And in the seconds that it took to get it from the refrigerated display to my cart, I already started dreaming of all the wonderfully delicious ways I could use it.

Follow your heart cheddar

I learned a valuable lesson: never prejudge a product based on another product made by the same company. And also – maybe long product names foretell disaster. 😉

In my exuberance to get the taste of cheddar cheese back into my life, I paid the full $5.99 for this product, not even waiting for it to go on sale. The first thing I noticed was its extremely soft tofu texture when it offered no resistance to my knife. That’s okay, I can deal with that.

Then I took the plunge.

I have no idea what they were trying to do when they came up with this product. There’s a blandness at first, followed by a weird i-wanna-be-cheddar-but-don’t-know-how sharpness afterward that makes you wish it would go back to bland. It was awful.

Other gluten-free hopefuls in my family tried it, and no one liked it. We ended up throwing the whole thing away.

I know alternative products can’t always taste like the real thing, but they should come closer than this. Still, I’d be interested in trying their mozzarella alternative, since that doesn’t have a whole lot of flavor anyway, but I think I’ll put that idea on hold until I find a free taste-testing somewhere. No sense throwing good money after bad.

Leave a Reply

