Is Rice Gluten the Same as Wheat Gluten?

I wondered about this question when I saw the ingredient “glutinous rice flour” on a package. I automatically assumed I couldn’t eat the product because gluten is gluten…isn’t it? Well, as it turns out, it isn’t. People who have allergies to wheat gluten do not have allergies to glutinous rice. The reason? The offending allergen proteins in wheat are called gliadin and glutenin, and rice does not have either of these proteins. Simply enter the phrase “glutinous rice gliadin” into Google and you will find tons of resources which repeat this fact.

How does this information help you? It means 3 things:

  1. You can eat products which contain glutinous rice flour in the ingredients.
  2. You can bake and cook with mochiko, a glutinous rice flour. You can find mochiko at Wegmans.
  3. You can eat mochi, yummy Japanese rice cakes. Some Japanese restaurants (and Whole Foods!) actually have mochi with ice cream in the center. They are REALLY great, so make sure to try them sometime.
To help you realize just how exciting this is, stay tuned for a wonderful mochiko flour recipe called “Hawaiian Sweet-Rice-Flour Coconut Cake”  from Ruth Reichl’s book Gourmet Today!
Advertisements

2 responses to this post.

  1. This is wonderful information. Your blog is so helpful! 🙂

    Reply

  2. […] a glutinous rice flour. You can find out why glutinous rice flour is not the same as wheat flour here. And now, on to the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: